Practicing the art and skill of building worlds.

Methods, Fun, and Making Projects Work

Remember when I mentioned that not all methods work for everyone? Well, not all methods work for every project, either. Occasionally we have to pause and take our own advice. Remember what I said: “If you’re not having fun, you’re doing it wrong.”

So, Morbid Magics just isn’t suited to 30 Days of Worldbuilding. (Six days in and I haven’t gotten to my core concept yet! That’s a sign that this method is wrong for what I’m trying to do. Fair enough.) I won’t give up on it; I’ll just find a new way to work on it. The question is, how do I work on it that will be interesting (and maybe even informative?) to other people? (After all, I started this blog to share my silly projects with the internet, not just to look at them myself. And nobody else is going to look at them if they’re boring.)

Something to think about.

3 responses

  1. It’s been called to my attention that a post every day could be too much, especially if people are concerned with getting spammed with e-mails. (facepalm) Well, live and learn, eh? Moving to a weekly post schedule sounds like a good fix for that.

    April 21, 2012 at 1:01 pm

  2. It’s your world; you’re allowed to experiment with techniques and abandon those that you find don’t fit your style. Me, I’m moving my mountains again and putting in a huge cliff wall.

    May 3, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    • Absolutely!

      Moving things and changing things is half the frustration fun.

      May 3, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Tell me what you think!

